Hot Water Heaters

sunset.jpg

Above: typical PNG sunset in the highlands

For those of us who have been overseas and experienced another culture, much to our liking, tend to miss it once we’re gone. I have experienced this–a lot–since being back from Papua New Guinea. I miss many things about the culture, but I won’t bore you with them. One thing I was thinking about this morning: Dad sent Tamsen & I to the dump to take the old hot water heater and some wood. My thought process as we were driving there was:

– there’s no dump in PNG

– there’s no need for a dump in PNG

– if we were disposing of this water heater in PNG, we would just bury it in the ground ourselves

– the national women would be able to carry this hot water heater the same distance we’re driving to the dump (they’re so strong!)

– the hot water heaters we had in PNG were all solar-powered

I miss PNG! I do not mean this to come across as me sounding discontent or unsatisfied with where the Lord has me this very moment. On the contrary, I am quite excited for the next phase of life. But at the same time, I am thankful for the time He gave me in Papua New Guinea and look forward to potential trips back there in the future. I am learning to be thankful for the places that the Lord has me in the moment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Back Home

Leave a Reply

